Stadskind / City child

Huisje bouwen / Building a house

Huisje bouwen / Building a house

Nooit hoefde ik als kind na te denken hoe ik een huis moest tekenen: gewoon een vierkant met een puntdak. Met een deur beneden, een raam ernaast en twee ramen bovenin. Schoorsteen erop, klaar. Als ik zin had, tekende ik nog een boom ernaast. Met een paar bloemen eronder.

Axel is een stadskind, dat nauwelijks weet wat dakpannen zijn. Huizen zijn bij hem hoog en plat. Een vriendinnetje van hem heeft een in zijn ogen heel bijzonder huis ‘met twéé trappen!’. Een eengezinswoning dus. Hij wil daar altijd naar zolder.

Zoals ik vroeger tekende wat ik kende, zo bouwt Axel met Lego wat hij kent.

~

Never ever in my childhood I needed to consider how I would draw a house: just a square with a triangle roof. A door on the ground floor, a window next to the door and two windows on the first floor. A chimney on the roof and that was it. When I was in a good mood, I drew a tree next to the house. And maybe some flowers.

Axel is a city child, unfamiliar with roofing tiles. He knows high, flat housing blocks. One of his friends lives in a very special house, to Axel at least, a house ‘with two staircases’! A terraced house. He always wants to play in the attic.

Just like I used to draw what I knew, Axel uses Lego to build what he knows.

 

4 gedachten over “Stadskind / City child

Geef een reactie

